Qube Ports Pty Ltd: enforceable undertaking accepted, mass
Party
- Party
- Qube Ports Pty Ltd
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Enforceable undertaking accepted
- Jurisdiction
- New South Wales
- Offence date
- 19 November 2019
- Offending period
- on 19 November 2019
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
Facts
Transport for NSW alleged that on 19 November 2019 the company failed to comply with the mass requirements under s 96(1)(c) of the Heavy Vehicle National Law. The NHVR accepted an enforceable undertaking from the company as an alternative to prosecution. Under the undertaking the company will put $137,000 towards risk awareness education and other safety initiatives.
As reported by NHVR, 16 November 2020.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Enforceable undertaking
Educational point
All serious overmass offences present a risk to safety and infrastructure, however there was no evidence of systematic non-compliance with the HVNL. Proper education and training around overmass vehicles lessens the impact on infrastructure and make our roads safer for everyone.
As reported by NHVR, 16 November 2020.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Company AS 69045 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $21,000 | 22 September 2026 | View the record of Company AS 69045, 22 September 2026 |
| Company AS 64295 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $13,500; supervisory intervention order | 3 September 2026 | View the record of Company AS 64295, 3 September 2026 |
| Company AS 67825 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $22,500 | 27 August 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67825, 27 August 2026 |
| Company AS 67541 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $13,000 | 4 August 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67541, 4 August 2026 |
| Company AS 67783, 67190 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $25,250 | 15 July 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67783, 67190, 15 July 2026 |
Sources
- NHVR, 16 November 2020: 137000 enforceable undertaking to support supply chain safety (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-74a2e96b0ca5, as at 20 October 2026. How the register is built.