Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd: enforceable undertaking accepted, mass
Party
- Party
- Laing O’Rourke Australia Construction Pty Ltd
- Type
- Company
- Role
- Role not stated
The proceeding
- Decision
- Enforceable undertaking accepted
- Offence date
- 16 October 2018 to 24 May 2019
- Offending period
- on 16 October 2018 and 24 May 2019
- Law
- Heavy Vehicle National Law
- Provisions
- s 96(1)(c)
- Offence
- Mass
- Incident
- No incident
Facts
Roads and Maritime Services alleged that the company failed to comply with mass requirements under s 96(1)(c) of the Heavy Vehicle National Law on 16 October 2018 and 24 May 2019. The NHVR accepted an enforceable undertaking from the company as an alternative to prosecution. The undertaking will see $249,500 contributed to chain of responsibility education. Its conditions include online and face-to-face chain of responsibility training and a third-party Transport Safety Management System Audit.
As reported by NHVR, 15 April 2020.
Penalty
- Fine
- Not stated
Fines under s 96(1)(c) on the register: $750 to $60,000, median $10,000 across 85 matters.
Orders
- Enforceable undertaking
Educational point
Proper education and training around overmass vehicles lessens the impact on infrastructure and make our roads safer for everyone.
As reported by NHVR, 15 April 2020.
What the record would have shown
The loaded mass, weighed or calculated against the vehicle's limits before it left the site, kept with the consignment record. How the record works →
Comparable actions
| Defendant | Offence | Jurisdiction | Decision | Date | Record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Company AS 69045 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $21,000 | 22 September 2026 | View the record of Company AS 69045, 22 September 2026 |
| Company AS 64295 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $13,500; supervisory intervention order | 3 September 2026 | View the record of Company AS 64295, 3 September 2026 |
| Company AS 67825 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $22,500 | 27 August 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67825, 27 August 2026 |
| Company AS 67541 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $13,000 | 4 August 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67541, 4 August 2026 |
| Company AS 67783, 67190 | Mass | NSW | Convicted, fined $25,250 | 15 July 2026 | View the record of Company AS 67783, 67190, 15 July 2026 |
Sources
- NHVR, 15 April 2020: 249500 enforceable undertaking for chain of responsibility education (read 14 October 2026)
Something here wrong? Report an error and name the source that shows it.
Register entry ea-3ceeb7cdb241, as at 20 October 2026. How the register is built.